Sunday, January 20, 2013

Going Vegan: I'm vegan, can I drink beer and wine?

We were heading out the door for an evening in the city. And my husband stopped and said, "Wait, can you drink beer?"

I never thought about it, so I quickly looked it up before heading out the door. Jolinda Hackett has the answer. 

My personal philosophy is that anyone can eat or drink whatever they want, but us veggies choose not to partake of certain foods. So decide what your choices are and stick to them!

Having said that, if you're a dedicated vegan and are choosing to rid your diet of animal foods, have you thought about what goes into the alcohol you drink? Many beers and wines are refined using a product called isinglass, which comes from fish, or may be filtered with bone char. While it may be easy to spot the worm in a bottle of tequila, determining which beers and wines are strictly vegan is another chore! In general, organic wines are usually vegan, and beers made in Germany, where there are strict laws regarding ingredients will be vegan-friendly. Other than that, our friends over at TasteBetter.com have put together this handy guide to vegetarian and vegan wines, beers and liquors.
*Reference: By Jolinda Hackett, About.com Guide 

No comments: